july, 2019

08julAll Day20Pacific GamesApia SamoaEvent Type :Multi-sports,Sport

Event Details

Once known as the South Pacific Games, the Pacific Games is a multi-sport event similar to the Olympics with participating countries exclusively from around the South Pacific region only. The mission of the event is to encourage and develop sporting competition between the South Pacific Nations and their people.

The event was first held in 1963 and since then it has been held approximately every four years. The first ever South Pacific Games was held at Suva, Fiji. It was originally held at intervals of every three years, but was expanded to four after the Tumon Games in Guam.

Some of the sports being competed in the Pacific Games are badminton, basketball, football, volleyball, weightlifting and many others.

In 2015, a total of 24 countries took part in the Pacific Games, boosted by the inclusion of Australia and New Zealand for the first time in the history of the Games. The two countries were invited to participate in four sports; sailing, taekwondo, rugby sevens and weightlifting.

In 1981, the Pacific Mini Games (formerly known as South Pacific Mini Games) was inaugurated, created to allow the smaller nations to compete against one another. It is also a multi-sport event but smaller than the main Pacific Games. It is also held every four years in the intervening years between the main games.


july 8 (Monday) - 20 (Saturday)


Apia Samoa

Comments are closed.


We are members of the following professional aviation organizations, reflecting the highest of standards in the industry.