november, 2019

18novAll Day25Davis CupMadrid or Lille?Event Type :Sport,Tennis

Event Details

The premier international team event for men’s tennis is the Davis Cup. It is organized by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is competed by teams from different countries in a knock-out format yearly. It was also known as the International Lawn Tennis Challenge but was popularly known as the Davis Cup. The Women’s editions of the Davis Cup is the Fed (Federation) Cup.

History of the Davis Cup
The Davis Cup championship started in 1900 from a challenge between Great Britain and the United States. Four members of Harvard University challenged the British to a tennis match. After their respective tennis teams agreed, Dwight F. Davis, a member of the Harvard players, created a tournament format and even ordered a sterling silver trophy with his own money, which cost about $1000.

The initial match between the United States and Britain was held in Boston, Massachusetts at the Longwood Cricket Club. The Americans won three matches which surprised the British. The following year, both the Americans and British did not compete, but in 1902 the Americans won and the next four matches after that were won by the British. The tournament got bigger by 1905 allowing competitors from Belgium, Austria, Australasia (New Zealand and Australia combined) and France.

From 1950 until 1967, Australia dominated the tournament, winning 15 times for the entire 18 years. By 1974, South Africa and India joined the Davis Cup and Sweden and Czechoslovakia the following year.

Some of the most successful countries throughout the entire Davis Cup are United States and Australia.

aftermarth of a Davis Cup match aftermath of a Davis Cup match
Recent Format
By 2013, 130 countries had joined the competition. The top 16 national teams (The World Group) compete yearly for the Davis Cup. The competition is held over four weekends during the year.

The World Group plays a four-round elimination tournament. Teams that lost the first-round matches will be sent to the World Group Playoffs round. Teams not in the World Group are designated into Zone Groups, divided into three regions – America, Asia/Oceania and Europe/Africa. In each region, there are three to four divisions, Group I being the highest and IV being the lowest. Group III and IV are week-long events played in one location. Groups are separated into round-robin pools with play-offs then deciding promotion and relegation. It is similar format of each Group but depends on the number of teams joining.

Possible Changes
It has been proposed that the Davis Cup change to a one-week tournament. The The International Tennis Federation (ITF) voted in 2018 to change the format to an 18-team event to be held in November each year. The first edition of the new event is expected to be held in Madrid or Lille from November 18-24, 2019.


november 18 (Monday) - 25 (Monday)


Madrid or Lille?

Comments are closed.


We are members of the following professional aviation organizations, reflecting the highest of standards in the industry.