september, 2019

28sepAll DayAFL Grand FinalMelbourne, AustraliaEvent Type :Australian Football,Sport

Event Details

Currently the top eight teams in the AFL competition play off in the finals, eventually with a grand final match usually played in the last week of September. Read about the AFL finals system. Below are the winners of the Grand Final since the first one in 1898, over 110 years ago.

There have been three drawn grand finals (1948, 1977 and 2010), which required a replay match the following week.

Collingwood have played in the most Grand Finals. Essendon and Carlton have been premiers 16 times, Collingwood 15. Only one team have won four consecutive grand finals, Collingwood in 1927, 1928, 1929 and 1930.

Hawthorn won their third straight grand final in 2015, making a total of 13 grand final wins for them.

In 2016, the Western Bulldogs appeared in their first Grand Final since 1961, beating the Sydney Swans by 22 points. The bulldogs won three consecutive finals from a record seventh position on the ladder to progress through to the Grand Final.

The 2017 winner Richmond completed the greatest 12-month turnaround in AFL history, after finishing 13th on the ladder in 2016, the Tigers won their first premiership in 37 years.

The 2018 Grand Final was won by the West Coast Eagles and Collingwood.


All Day (Saturday)


Melbourne, Australia

Comments are closed.


We are members of the following professional aviation organizations, reflecting the highest of standards in the industry.